How do you know when it’s a Great Photo or when You’re a great Capturer of Wonder?

Fox Kerry
5 min readOct 24, 2017

For starters, I’m not a photographer. I wouldn’t know what to do with most camera’s (including cell phone ones) if you put one in front of me and told me how to use it. But I am a tiny bit of a connoisseur and critic. I do love to appreciate and talk about great things.

Another interesting note on the front end. I don’t actually believe men created photography. I think some mischievous spiritual beings lent the technology to earth for who knows what reasons. The technology is too exquisite and magical.

Those being said, I love great images. I am flabbergasted when someone clicks and solidifies a moment of truth, a moment of Galactean Gorgeousness. Yes, I made that word up.

So the question arises, about these artists called photographers: Is it the camera or the camera-ist? The technology or the human set of decision making eyes and fingers?

Or is it just plain the subject and scenery one gets to work with?

Some will make the point that with today’s cameras (especially all those now which take video also) you just shoot a zillion shots…

--

--

Fox Kerry

If you paint for me even one thing which is true, perhaps I’ll be tempted to consider two. I tell tales poetically, someone else needs to set them to music.